Pro Tennis Internet Network

Dubai Voted By Players As 2010 ATP World Tour 500 Tournament Of The Year

Dubai, UAE

ATP Award© Dubai Duty Free Tennis ChampionshipsBrad Drewett, CEO ATP International Group, presented the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships organisers with the 2010 ATP World Tour 500 award on Tuesday night.

The ATP announced the 2010 ATP World Tour Tournament Award winners on Tuesday, with the Shanghai Rolex Masters, the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, and the SkiStar Swedish Open all triumphing in their respective tournament categories.

The tournament awards, voted annually by ATP players, recognise leading standards set within the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 (Shanghai), ATP World Tour 500 (Dubai), and ATP World Tour 250 (Bastad) tournament categories last season. Shanghai, Dubai and Bastad continue to lead by example, each having won the awards on several previous occasions.

The Shanghai Rolex Masters has captured the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 award in each of its first two years as a Masters 1000 event (2009-10). The tournament, held at the Qi Zhong Tennis Centre, saw Andy Murray defeat Roger Federer in last year’s final to capture his 6th career ATP World Tour Masters 1000 title.

"We are delighted that the Shanghai Rolex Masters has been named ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year by the players for the second consecutive year.  We are truly proud of the recognition by the ATP players and believe the award is well deserved. We would like to express our pride in being associated with such a well organized, high standard event and thank the Chinese authorities as well as the tournament organizers, Juss Event, for their hard work and dedication, which greatly contribute to the success of the tournament," said Arnaud Boetsch, Head of Sponsorship, Rolex.

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships, taking place this week, won the ATP World Tour 500 award for an impressive seventh time in eight years (2003-06, 2008-10). Novak Djokovic captured the 2010 title, adding his name to an illustrious list of former champions that includes the likes of Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Andy Roddick.

"We are absolutely delighted that the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships has been voted by the players as being ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year. The award is extra special as it comes from the players themselves and reflects all of the hard work that goes on behind the scenes to ensure that the players, officials and spectators have a fantastic experience during our event. Congratulations to all involved," said Colm McLoughlin, Managing Director, Dubai Duty Free.

The SkiStar Swedish Open, the popular clay court event in July, continues to excel in the ATP World Tour 250 category, triumphing for a remarkable ninth consecutive year (2002-10). In 2010, Spaniard Nicolas Almagro capped off an impressive week by denying home favourite and defending champion Robin Soderling in the final.

“To receive this acknowledgment year after year is a tribute to our outstanding organization. Every year we try to add something new and constantly develop the tournament. There is no option to sit still and always room for improvement in this competitive environment. Our success comes thanks to a dedicated and highly motivated organization and a passion for the game,” said Thomas Wallén, Tournament Director, SkiStar Swedish Open.

Search News

© ATP World Tour

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tennis Emirates Logo

Copyright © The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships 2014. All Rights Reserved.

Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Contact Us